First Day in South Korea: In Transit 

At this moment while writing this I am in Incheon International Airport leeching the free Wifi access. Transit points like train stations and airports are places of in-between. It is a place of non-arrival because it is where a person is always in a state of departure.

Believe it or not while I’m in a state of non-being I was able to produce and edit a draft exhibition proposal for the forthcoming show of Guy Debord at this new art space in Asakusa Tokyo. Without really a luxury of time, this moment of in-between has no choice left for me but to do what is to be done. Is this a manifestation of will?

In the next few days I will be exploring South Korea’s art and its city. This is part of my university’s engagement with Korea especially in the field of asian contemporary art. I’m excited to see and experience what’s here to offer.

Leave a Reply

